Angry Pellegrini blasts Scottish ref
Malaga coach Manuel Pellegrini has slammed referee Craig Thomson after his side's exit from the Champions League on Tuesday.
Borussia Dortmund advanced to the semi-finals after scoring twice in additional time to clinch a 3-2 win in the second leg at Signal Iduna Park.
While Eliseu's goal which put Malaga ahead 2-1 in the 82nd minute was offside, so was Dortmund's winner, scored by Felipe Santana.
Pellegrini criticised the officials for their failure to rule out Santana's tap in, which would have seen Malaga advance on the away goals rule.
"After we scored our second goal, there was no referee in the game," the Chilean said.
"They were pushing us and kicking us and even throwing elbows and making fouls. However, the fouls were not given.
"I felt there should have been two red cards during the match the referee didn't give – the handball of Sven Bender and Marcel Schmelzer's elbow.
"For the last goal they were offside twice when they scored, it wasn't given again. We wanted to have the possession but it was so difficult in these conditions."
Several Dortmund players were in an offside position in the lead up to Santana's winner, and the goalscorer also looked offside as he tapped in.
Pellegrini is worried about how his players will respond to the devastating defeat ahead of their clash against Osasuna on Saturday.
"How will the team recover from this? I guess we will see during the week," he said.
"It was though they wanted one banned team to play the final of Champions League, so we go home very embittered by this."
Meanwhile, Malaga owner Sheikh Abdullah Bin Nasser Al-Thani claimed the club's elimination was down to racism.
"This is not football but racism clear of all," Al-Thani posted on Twitter.
"I hope to open a thorough UEFA investigation regarding the Spanish club (which went) out this way, which does not affect the spirit of sport.
"Thank you very much (to) the team, you have been champions on the pitch. I'm sorry to go out this way (with) injustice and racism."